Thursday, May 21, 2009

Top 10 Photoshop Tutorial Sites

http://www.outlawdesignblog.com/2008/top-10-photoshop-tutorial-websites/

Saturday, May 9, 2009

Little Red Riding Hood

http://www.vimeo.com/3514904

Comic Book Effect

HDR Images






Print Output & Sharpening

To Prepare an RGB file for printing:
1) Open a High- Resolution file in Photoshop – Go File > Save As – in the Color area, check ICC Profile/ Embed Color Profile
2) If the Photoshop Format Options alert comes on, uncheck Maximize Compatibility, click OK
3) Go Layers > Flatten Image
4) Go Image > Mode > 8 bits/Channel (this is for proper inject output)
5) Make sure Image is proper size – Go Image > Image Size and find the Width / Height value
- Bicubic Smoother = Enlarge
- Bicubic Sharper = Reduction

6) Duplicate the Background then Double click the copy to open Layer Style
7) Use the Blend If..sliders to hide the highligh and shadow pixels (we don’t want sharpening to effect these areas)
8) Move the Black underlying Layer slider to 10 then Alt/ Option-Drag the left slider to 235
9) Move the White Underlying Layer slider to 245 then left slider to 235
10) Click OK
11) Now we will set the Zoom level for sharpening
12) Alt-click/Option-click the status bar at the bottom of the document window, Note the pixel dimension of your document:
- If it’s 2000 x 3000 pixels = 6 mpixels or smallerlarger, zoom to 100%
- 2400 x 3600 pixels = 8 mpixels or larger, zoom to 50%
13) Go Filter > Sharpen > Unsharp Mask
- Set amount between 200-250
- Radius between .7 – 1.0
- Threshold slider to 3 or 4
- Final Sharpening will be judged by print output

14) Go Edit > Fade Unsharp Mask
- Choose Mode: Tonalities to limit sharpening

15) Save File then Print
- If it’s too sharp then lower the opacity of duplicate layer